Chapter 9 Shloka 33

किं पुनर्ब्राह्मणा: पुण्या भक्ता राजर्षयस्तथा।

अनित्यमसुखं लोकमिमं प्राप्य भजस्व माम्।।३३।।

Then what is there to say of the

virtuous Brahmin and the devoted royal sages!

Therefore, having attained this joyless

and impermanent world, worship Me alone.

Chapter 9 Shloka 33

किं पुनर्ब्राह्मणा: पुण्या भक्ता राजर्षयस्तथा।

अनित्यमसुखं लोकमिमं प्राप्य भजस्व माम्।।३३।।

The Lord says, ‘If those who exist in sinful categories can be emancipated when they seek My refuge…’

Then what is there to say of the virtuous Brahmin and the devoted royal sages! Therefore, having attained this joyless and impermanent world, worship Me alone.

Little one, the Lord speaks here of the virtuous Brahmins and the Raj Rishis or the sages of royal descent. First understand the significance of these epithets.


Punya (पुण्य) connotes purity, that which brings well-being, just, righteous action. Punyavaan is one who:

a) is constantly working for the welfare of all;

b) is constantly immersed in selfless deeds;

c) is ever imbued with the spirit of yagya with which he colours his life and deeds;

d) constantly uses the Supreme attributes of the Lord in his daily life.

Such a one will necessarily be compassionate, merciful, generous and sympathetic towards others. He will ever try to absorb the other’s pain and sorrow.

The Lord then says, “Those Brahmins and Raj Rishis who are My devotees…” If you understand the connotation of the word ‘devotee’, you will also understand why this category of individuals is so eligible for the Supreme goal.

A Bhakta or devotee is one who:

a) imbibes divine attributes;

b) gathers those qualities of the Lord within himself;

c) seeks the support or refuge of the qualities of the Lord;

d) acquires and uses those qualities in life;

e) acknowledges those qualities as superior in his life;

f) keeps the Lord as his constant witness and practises the divine qualities incessantly.

Little one, only such devotees, engaged in the welfare of all, can be classified as Brahmins. Such are the Raj Rishis or the royal sages of yore. One cannot be a Brahmin merely by name or birth. Virtuous deeds and devotion are necessary attributes. Meritorious deeds and devotion must become evident in daily living. Such elevated souls have knowledge of the Supreme Essence and the path that leads to that Supreme Goal. They also have knowledge of the divine qualities. If their knowledge is confirmed in their daily living, they can attain the Supreme goal with the utmost ease.

Little one, Brahmins and Raj Rishis:

a) act selflessly;

b) pursue Upasana or meditative worship selflessly;

c) possess and use knowledge selflessly.

Understand once more the connotation of ‘Brahmin’ and ‘Raj Rishi’.

Brahmin (ब्राह्मण)

1. One who knows Brahm and speaks of Him.

2. Knowers of Brahm who impart knowledge of Him.

3. Those who impart teachings pertaining to dharma.

4. Brahmins can be priests who conduct yagya ceremonies on behalf of others.

5. Brahmins guide ordinary people to tread the path of dharma.

6. Brahmins are preceptors.

Raj Rishi (राजर्षि)

1. A Raj Rishi is one who is a saint of royal descent.

2. He is a king as well as a sanyasi.

3. He is an Atmavaan who also rules a kingdom.

4. He understands the sorrows and dilemmas of others as deeply as his own.

5. He is a king who strives for the universal well-being.

6. One who is detached and yet proffers joy to those who have attachments.

7. One who augments the others’ faith in their own Beloved Liege without endeavouring to break their basic beliefs.

8. One who discharges all the duties of a king, with the Lord as his Supreme Witness.

9. One who is ever free of all demonic qualities.

10. One who rules his subjects, adorned with divine qualities.

Little one, true Brahmins and Raj Rishis ever live in the Lord’s presence. They will inevitably attain the Supreme State.

The Lord says to Arjuna, “Then you will also attain Me. Then you too, will become like Me. At this moment you are afflicted with sorrow and you dwell in this impermanent world, bound by the mortal body. Devote yourself to Me even whilst dwelling in this world. You will definitely attain Me through this path of devotion.”

अध्याय ९

किं पुनर्ब्राह्मणा: पुण्या भक्ता राजर्षयस्तथा।

अनित्यमसुखं लोकमिमं प्राप्य भजस्व माम्।।३३।।

भगवान कहने लगे, यदि पाप योनियों वाले भी मेरे परायण होकर तर जाते हैं,

शब्दार्थ :

१. तो फिर पुण्यशील ब्राह्मण

२. और राजर्षि भक्त जन का तो कहना ही क्या!

३. इसलिये, तू सुख रहित तथा अनित्य इस लोक को प्राप्त होकर,

४. मेरा ही भजन कर।

तत्व विस्तार :

नन्हीं! यहाँ भगवान ने पुण्यशील तथा भक्तिपूर्ण ब्राह्मणों तथा राजर्षियों की बात कही है। प्रथम इन विशेषणों को समझ ले।


पुण्य का अर्थ है, पावन, कल्याणकारी, न्यायपूर्ण शुभ कर्म।

पुण्यवान् तथा पुण्यशील वह होगा जो,

क) निरन्तर सर्व हितकर होगा;

ख) निरन्तर निष्काम कर्मी होगा;

ग) निरन्तर यज्ञमय जीवन वाला होगा;

घ) निरन्तर अपने सहज जीवन में परम गुणों का इस्तेमाल करने वाला होगा;

यानि, पुण्यवान् जीव करुणापूर्ण तथा दयावान् होगा, वह उदार हृदय तथा सहानुभूति पूर्ण होगा और दु:खियों के दु:ख का विमोचक होगा।

फिर भगवान ने कहा, ‘जो ब्राह्मण तथा राजर्षि मेरे भक्त हैं।’

भक्त‘ का अर्थ भी पुन: समझ ले तो यह सहज में समझ आ जायेगा कि उन्हें परम पद सहज में क्यों मिल जाता है।

भक्त वे होते हैं जो:

1. भागवत् गुण अंगीकार करते हैं।

2. भागवत् गुण अपने में उपार्जित करते हैं।

3. भागवत् गुणों का आश्रय लेते हैं।

4. भागवत् गुणों का उपार्जन करते हैं।

5. भागवत् गुणों का जीवन में उपयोग करते हैं।

6. भागवत् गुणों को जीवन में श्रेष्ठ मानते हैं।

7. भगवान को अपना नित्य साक्षी बना कर वे भागवत् गुणों का ही निरन्तर अभ्यास करते हैं।

नन्हीं! ऐसे पुण्यवान् तथा भक्त लोग ही ब्राह्मण होते हैं। ऐसे पुण्यवान् तथा भक्त लोग ही राजर्षि होते हैं। केवल नाम या गोत्र से न ब्राह्मण बनते हैं, न ही राजर्षि बनते हैं। पुण्य कर्म और भक्ति इनके अनिवार्य विशेषण होने चाहियें। पुण्य कर्म और भक्ति इनके सहज जीवन में प्रमाणित होने चाहियें। इनको परम तत्व का ज्ञान भी होता है। इनको परम तत्व के पथ को पाने का भी ज्ञान होता है, इनको भागवद् गुणों का भी ज्ञान होता है। यह ज्ञान यदि इनके जीवन में प्रमाणित हो जाये, तब ये परम गति सहज में पा सकते हैं।

नन्हीं! ब्राह्मण तथा राजर्षियों,

क) के कर्म निष्काम ही होंगे।

ख) की उपासना निष्काम ही होगी।

ग) का ज्ञान भी निष्काम ही होगा।

‘ब्राह्मण’ तथा ‘राजर्षियों’ का अर्थ पुन: समझ ले :

ब्राह्मण :

1. ब्राह्मण ब्रह्म को जानने वाले ब्रह्मवादी गण होते हैं।

2. ब्राह्मण ब्रह्म को जानने वाले और ब्रह्म का ज्ञान देने वाले लोग होते हैं।

3. ब्राह्मण धार्मिक शिक्षा देने वाले लोग होते हैं।

4. ब्राह्मण पुरोहित बन कर दूसरों के लिये यज्ञ करने वाले लोग होते हैं।

5. ब्राह्मण साधारण जीवन में लोगों को धर्मयुक्त पथ पर चलाने वाले लोग होते हैं।

6. ब्राह्मण आचार्य लोग होते हैं।

राजर्षि :

क) राजर्षि संत समान राजा को कहते हैं।

ख) जो राजा भी हो और संन्यासी भी हो।

ग) जो आत्मवान् भी हो और राज्य भी करता हो।

घ) जो अपनी उपमा से दूसरों के सुख दु:ख समझता हो।

ङ) जो राजा भी हो और अखिल हितकर भी हो।

च) जो निरासक्त भी हो और आसक्त लोगों को सुख पहुँचाये।

छ) जो साधारण अज्ञानियों की मान्यता भंजित न करता हुआ, उन्हीं के प्रेमास्पद में उन्हीं की श्रद्धा बढ़ाये।

ज) जो निरन्तर भगवान के साक्षित्व में राजा के पूर्ण कर्तव्य निभाये।

झ) जो नितान्त आसुरी गुण रहित हो।

ञ) जो दैवी सम्पदा का श्रृंगार करके जनता पर राज्य करता है।

उसे राजर्षि कहते हैं।

नन्हीं! ब्राह्मण और राजर्षि तो निरन्तर भगवान के साक्षित्व में ही जीते हैं। वे तो परम पद पा ही लेंगे।

भगवान अर्जुन से कहते हैं, ‘तब तू भी मुझे ही पायेगा। तब तू भी मुझ सा ही हो जायेगा। इस समय तू शोकग्रस्त हुआ, दु:ख पूर्ण लोक में स्थित है। इस समय तू मोह ग्रस्त, अपने आप अनित्य मृत्यु धर्मा तन से बंधा हुआ है। तू इसी लोक में रहता हुआ भी मेरा भजन कर। इसी भक्ति की राह तू मुझे पा ही लेगा।’

Copyright © 2024, Arpana Trust
Site   designed  , developed   &   maintained   by .